Aunt Kathy’s Fettuccini Alfredo

This is another one of my Aunt Kathy’s recipes. She has always made the best fettuccini alfredo. Growing up, this wasn’t ever my favorite dish, but I’ve really come to love it over the years. The more I was exposed to it, the more I fell in love. I wanted to make a video for this recipe to emphasize how quick and easy it is to make a delicious, homemade meal. There are many premade varieties of Alfredo sauce out there, which are sometimes tempting because of convenience, but I just wanted to show that it really isn’t inconvenient to make the sauce from scratch.

Two more reasons I love making alfredo from scratch: you can customize it, and you know what you’re eating. I’m making the basic recipe, but know that you can add whatever you like to it, whether it’s chicken, bacon, broccoli or another of your favorite vegetables. Here are the basic ingredients: fettuccini, light cream, butter, Parmesan cheese, and cracked black pepper.

Start by melting 3 TBSP of butter in a saucepan. Add 1 cup of Parmesan cheese. Heat until the cheese begins to melt. Add 1 ½ cups of light cream. Keep over low heat, stirring constantly until the cheese is melted and fully incorporated into the cream. Add some pepper, to taste. Meanwhile, cook 1 lb of fettuccini till al dente. Drain the pasta. Once the sauce is slightly thickened, pour over the cooked fettuccini. Serve with more Parmesan and cracked pepper, if desired.

This dish is great as a meal or along side of some Chicken French or your favorite grilled meat. If serving as a main dish, feel free to add some chicken and broccoli. Enjoy!

If you like what you see, please follow my blog or find me on Twitter @LSessionsCPA.

Leave a comment