Aunt Sue’s Conchiglie con Zucchine

“Conchiglie con zucchine” is Italian for “shells with zucchini.”  This is one of my Aunt Sue’s recipes. She is my mom’s sister, and from what I understand she was a great cook. Aunt Sue passed away was a great person, but she passed away before I was born. I have the honor of being named after her, as my middle name is Sue.

My mom found this recipe and introduced it to us last year after we had an abundant zucchini harvest and we were wondering what we were going to do with it all. I’m so happy that she did make this for us, as it has become one of my family’s favorites. One day my mom and stepdad were watching the kids, and I joined them for lunch at their house during my break from work. I am frequently fortunate enough to have my family’s company at lunch, as I work closely to home. These lunch breaks allow me to spend some quality time with my family that I may otherwise be missing out on, so I cherish these moments. Anyway, they prepared this dish for us, and it was an instant hit!

We love this pasta as a side dish to some sort of grilled main, whether it’s chicken, steak, or pork chops with our favorite coffee rub. It’s also great as an entrée on its own and would be great served with a green salad and maybe some fresh french bread. As a mom, I love it because I may be lucky enough that my kids take a few bites of a vegetable. It’s also fairly quick, and very easy to make.

Have you dug out any old recipes lately? I’d love to hear what it is you’re making today – old or new… comment below!

conchiglie-con-zucchine-maggiorana-e-mandorle-725x545½ cup butter

1 clove minced garlic

3 or 4 small zucchini, sliced thinly

1 tsp dried basil

Salt and pepper

1 lb pasta shells, cooked

2 TBSP chopped fresh parsley

1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Melt butter in a large skillet. Add zucchini and garlic and cook until crisp-tender. Add basil and season to taste with salt and pepper. Turn up the heat and cook a few minutes to blend flavors. Remove from heat. Turn cooked pasta into zucchini mixture. Heat and toss until shells are well-coated. Add parsley and cheese. Toss again and serve immediately.

photo credit

Leave a Reply

