Nana’s Manigott

I have previously discussed many of our Christmas Eve traditions.  What I didn’t mention then was that manicotti, or as Nana pronounced it, “manigott,” was almost always a part of those traditions.  Manigott was one of Nana’s specialties, and it was one of our favorites to eat.  I was always excited for the manicotti because honestly, sausage and peppers haven’t ever been a favorite of mine.

manicotti

The recipe above is a prime example of why I started my blog.  This is one of the recipe cards we pulled out of The Box.  Actually, it is one of the three recipe cards for manicotti that we found.  The other two are almost identical, but have a little less detail.  This is actually a detailed recipe compared to other recipes in the box.  We actually have some stuff to work with here.  There are some measurements and some ingredients.  We do not, however, have a complete recipe.  This is only one step of the process, which I will discuss in further detail a little later.

Nana’s homemade shells are very similar to a crepe.   I have actually found that it is easier to make these shells then it is to buy the manicotti shells from the store.  What makes this easier is the fact that once all the shells are cooked, you can simply add the filling and roll them up rather than fighting with those cooked pasta tubes to get them filled.  Trust me on this one.  I’ll share the recipe next, but first I’m curious, have you found any homemade recipes or meals to be easier to make than their prepackaged-for-convenience counterparts?  Comment below!
Nana’s Manicotti

There are three components to this recipe.  The good thing is that I’ve already covered two: the sauce and the filling, which is similar to the mixture used for my lasagna, but I’ll share again.

A few cups of sauce

Shells:

4 eggs

2 cups water or milk (I prefer milk)

1 cup flour

pinch of salt

3 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese

Mix the ingredients together until a thin batter is formed.  Pour the batter into a pan until the bottom is covered, and once the bottom is cooked, flip it like a pancake. 

Filling:

1 egg, beaten

1 15 oz container ricotta cheese

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1 cup grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for serving

Parsley

Mix the above together.  Once combined, spoon into cooked manicotti shells.  Roll them up, and place them in a 13 by 9 baking dish prepared with cooking spray and a good layer of sauce on the bottom. Once the pan is full, smother the rolled manicotti with sauce, and sprinkle with some mozzarella cheese.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30-45 minutes, until heated through and lightly browned.

2 thoughts on “Nana’s Manigott

  1. I think it’s in our gene pool to leave the last syllable off of words- manigott, mozzarell, I’ve even caught mom (aunt meme) saying wal-mar… These are awesome Lindsay! Can’t wait to read more!

    Like

    1. Yes! I think you’re probably right. I was reading, though, that it is a Sicilian dialect to leave the last letter/syllable off… When I saw that, it all kind of clicked for me! I’m glad you’re enjoying these… it’s been fun to write them! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

