Dad’s Artichoke Dip

By now, you might be able to tell that I am a lover of artichokes.  Because I love all things artichoke, I don’t tend to discriminate against anything containing them.  Especially dips.  I love the dips with spinach and artichokes, or jalapeños and artichokes, the hot dips, the cold dips, and any combination of the above.

Dad’s artichoke dip, though, is my absolute favorite.  This dip is usually served as an appetizer. Almost always, I end up eating way too much and it becomes a meal for me. This is probably my most favorite warm dip and appetizer. This is my dad’s recipe, and I think it was inspired by our family’s recipe similar to this artichoke casserole recipe I remember having as a kid. The casserole was yummy, cheesy and artichoke-y, but in my opinion, the dip is much better.

Recently we’ve started a new tradition of having appetizers for dinner on Christmas Eve. With all the hustle and bustle of the holidays, we’ve been thinking, “why not make one meal a little less complicated?” So, since there’s shopping to be done, presents to be wrapped, Christmas breakfast and dinner… let’s spend less time cooking on Christmas Eve, slow down, and just enjoy the day and the company of our loved ones.  This thinking is much different from the traditions that I grew up with.  I’ll have to tell you more about those in a different post.

My dad is very aware that this is my favorite dip, so he is always prepared to make his artichoke dip “specialty” for our Christmas Eve celebration. It’s just a few simple ingredients chopped, mixed together, and popped in the oven to bake for a bit. When it comes out, it is baked artichoke bliss. This dip can be served with pita chips, tortilla chips, bagel chips, toasted French bread, or veggies.

P121582812070848_5
photo credit

Dad’s Artichoke Dip

4 cans quartered artichoke hearts

1 Cup mayonnaise (Best Foods or Hellmann’s preferred)

1 Cup good Parmesan cheese

2 TBSP minced garlic

Paprika

To begin, chop up the artichoke hearts. If you have a food processor, you can roughly chop them using the food processor. Add the garlic then the mayo and cheese a half cup at first, and then a quarter cup at a time until a smooth consistency is obtained. Spread into a 13×9 baking dish. Sprinkle with paprika. Bake at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes.  Once it’s golden brown on top, take out of the oven and serve with your favorite cracker, chips, or veggies.  Enjoy!

Do you have any newly established traditions that are different from those you grew up with?  I’d love to hear… comment below!

Leave a Reply

