The Box

Growing up with strong Italian-American traditions, I was always surrounded by family.  I am an only child but grew up so close with my cousins that we could have been sisters.  We had something going on every weekend, and sometimes even in between.  Each gathering may have been to celebrate someone’s birthday, a holiday, or maybe just a plain Sunday, but there was always one constant.  We always had good food.  Good food thanks to all of the great cooks in our family.

Now I can’t say that I’m not eating well since I’ve grown up and moved “away from home.”  I’m definitely eating, but it isn’t the same.  I no longer live near my extended family, and now am challenged to create my own traditions for my own family.  And since my nana’s passing nearly 14 years ago, there has always been a void.  Not just because she isn’t here to cook for us anymore, but also because many of her recipes that we so fondly remember are barely documented.  If they are documented, they’re impossible to search or find.  My goal with this blog is to change some of that.

IMG_2911

I will be going through “the box” of recipes that we have from Nana and sharing them.  Perhaps even more important to me than the recipes themselves are the memories that my family and I have surrounding the food.  Please join me as I begin to record the memories and traditions of my childhood and share with you some new food-related traditions my family has adopted along the way.  I am excited to share them with you.  As I can still hear Nana so vividly, “Come on, let’s eat!”

4 thoughts on “The Box

  1. You cook up some amazing eats lindsay I always look forward to your cooking when we come and visit i also love your peanut butter chicken:) just sayN!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

